Lions District 18 C Lion David R. O'Scott, District Governor

1999 - 2000

Lion David R. O'Scott of the Fitzgerald Lions Club was elected District Governor for the second time by the District 18 C Lions at the District 18 C Convention in Americus, Georgia on March 6, 1999.

Lion O'Scott attended the District Governor's School in San Diego, California. Lion International President accepted the Oath of Office and made his commitment to all of Lionism, to give 125% toward making our association stronger and more active in the community, national and world projects.

President Ervin's theme was "Each One Reach One".

Lion O'Scott said "Remember to get all you can get out of life before life gets out of you".

Elected to serve on the cabinet with District Governor Foreman were:

Lion Dr. Clinton Holloway	Plains Lions Club	Vice District Governor
Lion Jim Sellers	Fitzgerald Lions Club	Cabinet Secretary
Lion Cindy Freeman	Fitzgerald Lions Club	Cabinet Treasurer
Lion Terry Rouse, PDG	Thomasville Lions Club	Council Advisor

Region Chairmen elected were:

region onaimen elected were.		
Lion Sharon Lamb	Americus Lions Club	Region 1
Lion Frank Gilmer	Albany Noon Lions Club	Zone 1
Lion Dick Gage	Lee County Lions Club	Zone 2
Lion Walter Cannon	Eastman Lions Club	Region 2
Lion Michael Johnson	Eastman Lions Club	Zone 1
Lion Sid Cammeron	Unadilla Lions Club	Zone 2
Lion Ron Horn	Moultrie Lions Club	Region 3
Lion Ed Cane	Albany Evening Lions Club	Zone 1
Lions Charles Shaw	Lanier County Lions Club	Zone 2
Lion Francis Harris	Tifton Lions Club	Zone 3
Lion Jim Lapham	Camilla Lions Club	Region 4
Lion James M. Beck III	Bainbridge Club	Zone 1
Lion Arthur Tatum	Calvary Lions Club	Zone 2
Lion Norma Jean Lauderdale	Pelham Lions Club	Zone 3

Ex-Officio Cabinet Members elected were:

Lion Terry Foreman, PDG Georgia Lions Camp for the Blind Vice President
Lion Dick Gage Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation Vice president

Lion Terry Rouse, PDG Extension Chair
Lion Gloria Sulkowski Membership Chair
Lion Debi Griffin Leadership Chair
Lion Frank World PDC

Lion Frank Worley, PDG LCIG Chair

Lion Cindy Freeman Hearing and Speech Action & Work with Deaf Chair

Lion Mary Gilmer Youth Exchange Chair

Lion Francis Harris Public Relations & Lions Information Chair

Lion J. D. Goings, PDG International Understanding & Co-Operation Chair

Lion Jim Walker Leo Chair

Lion Patricia Whorley Environmental Chair Lion Terry Rouse, PDG Sight First Chair

Lion W. Terry Foreman
Lion Mary Gilmer
Lion Jo Ann Minix
Lion Sharon Lamb
Lion Robert Monroe

Diabetes Awareness Chair
Youth Outreach Chair
District Convention Chair
Honorary Committee Chair
Lions Journey for Light Chair

Lion Jim Lapham White Cane Chair
Lion Ivey Lair, PDG Lioness Chair
Lion David Smith Sergeant At Arms
Lion Dr. Clinton Holloway District Broakfast Clinton

Lion Dr. Clinton Holloway District Breakfast Chair

Lion Dr Clinton Holloway USA/Canada Leadership Forum

Lion Jim Sellars District Credentials

Lion Terry Pullin State Convention/State Awards Chair

Lion Don Sickmon, PDG Resolutions & Rules Constitution & Bylaws Chair

Lion Delores Foreman
Lion Don Sickmon
Lion Harshard "Harry" Patel
Lion C. B. "Cotton" Hester
Lion Chris Sumner

District Newsletter
Uniform Chair Chair Chair
State Pin Chair

Lion Clark lamb, PDG Long Range Planning & International Chair

Lion Dick Sickmon, PDG District & State Nominations and Elections Chair

Lion J. D. Goings, PDG Chaplin

Lion Steve Studstill
Lion Rhetta Rouse
Lion Clark Lamb, PDG

Drug Awareness Chair
Leader Dog Chair
All State Band Chair

Lion Chris Sumner Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic Chair

The second Cabinet Meeting was held October 31, 1999 in Moultrie, Georgia.

The third Cabinet Meeting was held in Tifton, Georgia on January 30, 2000

The District Convention was held March 3-4, 2000 in Fitzgerald Georgia.

Lion Frank Gilmer of the Albany Lions Club announced his candidacy for Vice District Governor at the Cabinet Meeting in Moultrie, Georgia.

The Cordele Lions Club recognized a group of Lions for their long service to Lionism.

The honorees were as follows:

Lion J. D. Rainey 59 years Lion Britt Phillips 53 years Lion John Davis 51 years Louis Perlis 51 years Lion Whit forester 51 years Lion Dewey Reynolds 48 years 48 years Lion Joel Holley Lion Wesley Turton 46 years Lion Bob Bissell 45 years Lion Bill Davis 43 years Lion Lawrence Tondee 42 years Lion Buddy Wilson 42 years Lion Donnie Whittle 40 years Lion Charlie Young 40 years plus

The Cordele Club presented a total of 13 Melvin Jones Fellows Awards including 4 to deceased Lions. The recipients were as follows:

Lion B.I. Thornton, PDG Deceased Lion M.F. Cates Deceased Lion John Childer Deceased Lion Bill Pryor Deceased Lion Meredith Kelly Past Member Lion J.D. Rainey Sr. **Active Member** Lion Curt Browning **Active Member** Lion Lamar Cromer, PDG **Active Member** Lion Jimmy Black **Active Member** Lion Troy Pullin, PDG Active Member Lion A. J. Wright **Active Member** Lion Britt Phillips **Active Member** Lion Whitfield Forrester Active Member

The District was hit with on February 14, 2000 with a series of tornados. Eighteen people lost their lives. Disaster grants totaling \$20,000 were awarded in District 18 C.

The Cochran Lions Club was chartered on Saturday night. January 22, 2000. The club was sponsored by the Pulaski Lions Club, Lion Gene Noble and Past District Governor Terry Rouse.

The District was saddened upon learning of the death of Past District Governor B. I. Thornton of the Cordele Lions Club. He joined the club in July 1935. His sponsor was John Williams. He served Lionism in many offices.

The district also lost the Charter President of the Lee County Lions Club, Lion John Varnell.

The Albany Noon Lions Club sponsored a Leo Club at Radium Springs Middle School. Lion Clinton Holloway, Vice District Governor of 18 C presented the charter.